Item added to your cart.

Wait To Pleasure (10th Anniversary Edition)
No Joy
Mexican Summer
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 23, 2023

Product Details:

  • Features two new bonus tracks "Beauty" and "Dorion"
  • Edition of 500 on Standard Black Vinyl
  • To mark its ten year anniversary, Mexican Summer presents a new, limited edition pressing of No Joy’s classic album Wait to Pleasure expanded with two new tracks from the beloved band's original line up. Limited edition of 500.

    Wait To Pleasure is the product of the Montreal noise-pop band’s first foray in a fully-furnished studio environment. Here the band has flourished, delivering their finest set to date, rooted heavily in shoegaze ripcurls and devastating melody, finishing sentences whispered long ago with depth, variance and force. Singer-guitarists Jasamine White-Gluz and Laura Lloyd and drummer Garland Hastings knock down the fence between nostalgia and modernity, chaos and control, in a perfectly- realized effort made to bridge their uncompromised musical pasts with the alarmist tendencies of the present.

    Wait To Pleasure found No Joy set loose in Mexican Summer’s studio, Gary’s Electric, for two weeks in 2012, with producer Jorge Elbrecht at the helm. “Our earlier records are purely guitar-based, rock band lineups,” Laura adds, “and with Wait To Pleasure we seized the opportunity to change things up a bit.”

    “We play as if the audience isn’t there, and we wouldn’t care if there weren’t anyone in the room at all, other than our band,” Jasamine qualifies. “No matter what, we are making this music for ourselves.” Feel fortunate, then, that we are invited along to listen in, to take what we want out of No Joy’s songs. They’ve gotten everything they wanted already.

    Digital Tracklist

    1. 1 E 5:18 Buy


    2. 2 Hare Tarot Lies 3:26 Buy

      Hare Tarot Lies

    3. 3 Prodigy 2:36 Buy


    4. 4 Slug Night 3:39 Buy

      Slug Night

    5. 5 Blue Neck Riviera 4:22 Buy

      Blue Neck Riviera

    6. 6 Lizard Kids 2:21 Buy

      Lizard Kids

    7. 7 Lunar Phobia 3:51 Buy

      Lunar Phobia

    8. 8 Wrack Attack 2:56 Buy

      Wrack Attack

    9. 9 Ignored Pets 2:43 Buy

      Ignored Pets

    10. 10 Pleasure 2:05 Buy


    11. 11 Uhy Yuoi Yoi 2:44 Buy

      Uhy Yuoi Yoi

    12. 12 Dorion (Bonus Track) 2:23 Buy

      Dorion (Bonus Track)

    13. 13 Beauty (Bonus Track) 6:09 Buy

      Beauty (Bonus Track)

    No Joy

    --:-- --:--

    Privacy Settings

    This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

    Allow All
    Manage Consent Preferences