Item added to your cart.

Myths 003
Dungen & Woods
Mexican Summer
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 16, 2018
  • Download

    Sale $6.99$4.89
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

With 2018’s Marfa Myths festival slated to take place in the idyllic namesake backdrop of far West Texas, Mexican Summer once more reveals the fruits of the previous festival’s recording residency. For the third Marfa Myths release, we’re proud to present seven all-new songs written and recorded by Stockholm’s psychedelic masters Dungen and adventurous Brooklyn indie-folk pioneers Woods.

As the Marfa Myths record series progresses, the spirit of the collaborations between the artists chosen – one a member of the Mexican Summer family, the other for which we share deep admiration – deepens as well. In the case of Dungen and Woods, the two bands were tourmates in the summer of 2009, traversing America and bonding with one another in the process. The familiarity with one another’s music and personalities was already well in place, but the eight years that passed between the tour and the making of this record reveal that nothing was lost in the interim.

That this is the most music assembled for a Marfa Myths release to date is telling of a rare and special connection between Dungen and Woods, reignited by the circumstances of the occasion. Dungen’s Gustav Ejstes and Reine Fiske, and Woods’ Jeremy Earl and Jarvis Taveniere were provided the freedom to acclimate themselves to the unique frequencies of the Marfa experience without distraction. Marfa Myths 003 showcases a seamless merging of two bands following the same track to different locations throughout their career, as if they’d been playing together for decades, an exhilarating and buoyant example of how shared experiences can foster truly wonderful music.

Myths 003 by Dungen Woods

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 01 Loop 2:56 Buy

    01 Loop

  2. 2 02 Turn Around 4:03 Buy

    02 Turn Around

  3. 3 03 Marfa Sunset 3:09 Buy

    03 Marfa Sunset

  4. 4 04 Morning Myth 4:41 Buy

    04 Morning Myth

  5. 5 05 Jag Ville Va Kvar 5:53 Buy

    05 Jag Ville Va Kvar

  6. 6 06 Saint George 6:20 Buy

    06 Saint George

  7. 7 07 Just For The Taste 3:49 Buy

    07 Just For The Taste

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences