Various Artists

Mexican Summer: A Decade Deeper

October 19, 2018 Mexican Summer

Product Details:

  • LP comes in screen-printed jacket
  • Limited to 200

A decade deeper, a decade spent tripping the light fantastic. A nimble dance lead by the many musicians euphorically followed, and the gilded spirit that has compelled Mexican Summer across a radically shifting musical landscape for ten years.

Along the way, the label, birthed in 2008 by Kemado Records, has evolved from releasing limited run vinyl editions to discovering and nurturing a bold array of musicians across two hundred fifty catalog releases, launching Anthology, a reissue and publishing imprint, and unfolding Marfa Myths, and annual music, visual arts, and film festival in Marfa, Texas.

To celebrate the first ten years of living, breathing, and believing, Mexican Summer will host a homegrown, all day event in its Brooklyn backyard on Saturday, November 17. While almost impossible to bring the entire family back together, the label welcomes a wide representation of its artists to the table to help harmonize in birthday song.

On two stages in Red Hook institution Pioneer Works, the day of celebration will variously feature Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, Arp, Pill, Drugdealer, Tonstartssbandht, the first ever New York performance of FJ McMahon and Quilt, Jess Williamson, Allah-Las, Ariel Pink, and a very special, Swedish guest.

All ticket sales from the event will benefit Pioneer Works, Mexican Summer’s longtime friend and collaborator, and an intrepid, non-profit voice for the the arts in New York. Get Tickets

Decade Deeper, a limited edition LP featuring unreleased music from Ariel Pink, Connan Mockasin, Drugdealer, and many others, will be available at the ten year event and direct from the label thereafter.

MP3 $9.99
LP $15.00

Out of Stock

1 Arp - II Sogno Di Monica  
2 Ariel Pink - Nonsequiter Seques  
3 Drugdealer - Be Thou By My Side  
4 Robert Lester Folsom - Strolling Along  
5 Jefre Cantu-Ledesma - Crescent  
6 Dungen - Puerto Vantör  
7 Pill - Naked Muse  
8 Allah-Las - Marionberry Jam  
9 PAINT - Land Man  
10 Jassbusters - B'nD (NY)  
11 Gregg Kowalsky - Limon Limon  
12 Tonstartssbandht - Livin' In Hope