Lucky Luke

Travelling For A Living

November 30, 2009 Mexican Summer

Traveling For A Living  – Lucky Luke were formed in 1999 by Simon Shaw (guitar), formerly of Glasgow band V-Twin, and Morag Wilson (vocals). Their first official release in 2002 was a contribution to a West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band 10″ tribute ep ‘Outa Town Outer Space’ released on Earworm Records (and awarded ‘single of the month’ in Record Collector magazine). Around this time, the duo also contributed to various Fence Records compilations.

By 2003, the band had expanded to an 8 piece, featuring new singer Lucy Sweet (with Wilson moving to harmonium duties), and various talented young musicians from the Glasgow folk/jazz collective Scatter (including drummer Alex Neilson who has gone on to perform with Will Oldham, Current 93, Alasdair Roberts, etc). This was the year they released the 7″ single ‘Simon Of The Desert’, their first single proper, on Edinburgh label Wee Black Skelf. A re-telling of the Luis Bunuel film of the same title, it caught the attention of Geoff ‘Portishead’ Barrow’s Invada label, who offered to release the band’s then recently recorded debut album Patrick The Survivor. Around this time the band also became a regular fixture at the Green Man festival.

Trimmed down to a 6 piece, the band supported Teenage Fanclub on their UK tour in May 2005. Their debut album Patrick The Survivor was released on CD (Invada) and vinyl (Wee Black Skelf) in June, garnering great reviews from Plan B, Uncut, Mojo, etc., as well as being awarded ‘folk album of the year’ (joint with Alasdair Roberts) in the Times newspaper.

1 Mud In The Milk  
2 The Boat  
3 Out Of My Tree  
4 Jackie  
5 Bratislavan Nights  
6 The Black Tree  
7 Summer Walker  
8 In The Rain  
9 New Year's Day  
10 Travelling For A Living  
11 Summer Interlude  
12 Kill The Enemy