Langhorne Slim

Be Set Free

September 29, 2009 Kemado

One of the most endearing and standout qualities of a Langhorne Slim live show is the sureness that one is always entering a genuine gospel-like musical experience full of little miracles. Be Set Free has captured this charisma and spirit -the “hold your heart” moments and “raise a drink” dance vibes shine throughout with lush string arrangements and the fine sonic talents of drummer Malachi DeLorenzo and new bassist Jeff Ratner. Langhorne’s stronger than ever vocals lead the journey blending his poetry through the beautiful chaos and bearing a wisdom that reflects a broken heart battling the perils of true hope.

Be Set Free is Langhorne’s most cinematic and cohesive effort to date. Slim has truly reached a point of light where these songs come from wide-eyed maturity and mastered craft.

Gut wrenching lyrics and gorgeous merry melodies-it would be easy to categorize it as folk, but this time-it’s much more complex than just that slice of pie. Sweet hallelujah choruses bleed throughout tracks like “Land Of Dreams” and “Say Yes” and turn to the darkness of blues filled “I Love You, But Goodbye”.

LP $16.00
CD $8.00
MP3 $9.99
1 Back to the Wild  
2 Say Yes PLAY  
3 I Love You, Goodbye  
4 Land of Dreams PLAY  
5 Cinderella  
6 Be Set Free  
7 For A Little While  
8 Sunday By The Sea  
9 Leaving My Love  
10 Yer Wrong  
11 Blown Your Mind  
12 So Glad I'm Coming Home  
13 Boots Boy