C-Spencer-Yeh-Okkyung-Lee-Lasse-Marhaug -Wake-Up-Awesome-cover-art
SFT021_CSpenser_frontC. Spencer Yeh / Okkyung Lee / Lasse Marhaug – Wake Up Awesome EP back

C. Spencer Yeh / Okkyung Lee / Lasse Marhaug

Wake Up Awesome


Wake Up Awesome, by C. Spencer Yeh (Burning Star Core), Okkyung Lee, and Lasse Marhaug (Jazzkamer), is the second chapter of SSTUDIOS (Software Studios Series). SSTUDIOS is a new venture in the Software Recording Co.‘s expanding catalog that invites artists in the field of electronic music to create collaborative works of quality and vision.

Inspired by the historical intersections of live performance and studio post-production, Wake Up Awesome is a modern kind of fusion in technique as well as genre. At its core are three artists highly experienced with both instant and labored composition. Together, they found the studio generated improvisations were iteratively developed by each on their own.

Passages of real-time improvisation duck and swerve into electro-concrete tangles of samples, edits and juxtaposition – all you’d want out of a world of mechanical possibility. If it sounds intentional on the record, it was. If Yeh and Marhaug’s more electronic affinities in their respective practices place them as the “producers,” then Lee’s cello often leads the drive as a sort of soloist.

The resulting conversation is genuinely both serious and iconoclastic. All three artists have a history of dialogue, but this is the first time they’ve hung out for the record — we’re very happy that they did.

LP $17.00
CD $7.00

Out of Stock

MP3 $9.99
1 Wake Up Awesome  
2 Hairslide  
3 The Mermen of Poetry  
4 Ophelia Gimme Shelter  
5 The Mermaids of Extended Technique  
6 Magic Seagull Lamp  
7 Mission: Lazy  
8 Mission: Nothing  
9 Throw Down the Fishcake  
10 Neutrons Whatever  
11 Serious Cat's Milk  
12 Anise Tongue and Durian Wet Dream  
13 Mission: Possible  
14 RSVP Skunk  
15 Tonight We Sleep Like Empty Hard Drives