Ariel Pink

Odditties Sodomies Vol. 1 / Sit n' Spin

January 29, 2021 Mexican Summer
MEX272 / MEX273

About the Vinyl:

  • LPs housed with Obi-Strips and Printed Inner sleeves
  • Includes Download Card
  • Pressed at Record Technology, Inc.
  • Original Art Design by Ariel Pink
  • The Kitchen Club Vinyl Bundle offers exclusive and limited color editions of each of the ten albums being issued in four cycles over the course of 2019 and 2020


Mexican Summer presents Ariel Archives.

Ariel Archives is a comprehensive series of reissues and retrospective collections concentrating on the treasure trove of material recorded and released by Ariel Pink as Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti.

Odditties Sodomies Vol. 1 returns to vinyl as an expanded installment of Ariel Archives, Mexican Summer’s reissue project revisiting the trove of music Ariel Pink recorded and released as Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti between 1999 and 2019. For this version, Odditties Sodomies Vol. 1 has been remastered from the original source tapes and mixed in true stereo, delivering in extraordinary range the full depth of Ariel’s compulsive musical enterprise.

Conceived long before its first official release in 2008, the series Odditties Sodomies was created by Ariel Pink as a means to collect the best of his orphaned music, songs which had not made it onto the Haunted Graffiti album collections Underground, The Doldrums, Scared Famous/FF>>, House Arrest, Lover Boy, and Worn Copy. As such, the first volume of Odditties Sodomies contained songs recorded between 1997 and 2004, a period roughly encapsulating Ariel’s graduation from high school, his college years, and the beginning of his independent life as a songwriter, when he became the unlikely conduit for an epic stretch of creativity that resulted in several hundred inspired experimental pop songs.

Sit n’ Spin is a special installment of Ariel Archives focusing on the singles, EPs, and unreleased sessions recorded by Ariel Pink in the late aughts after a five-year hiatus from making new music. Documenting his first recordings with a full band,  Sit n’ Spin contains the best and rarest rumblings of the artist at the beginning of an explosive second chapter.

Around 2008, Ariel Pink had found a group of musicians that brought his self-recorded music to life in a live context. They were drummer Jimi Hey, keyboardist Kenny Keys, bass player Tim Koh, guitarist Cole M. Greif-Neil, and, later, multi-instrumentalist Jorge Elbrecht and drummer Aaron Sperske. Shows at the beginning of this new phase were thrilling affairs involving Pink originals “Thespian City”, “Envelopes Another Day,” “For Kate I Wait,” and a particularly climactic cover of The Dover’s “She’s Gone.”  It was during this period that Pink’s new group (touring as Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti) also started recording new music. These sessions would become the first recordings by the artist since crafting the underground pop opus Worn Copy in 2003.

Sit n’ Spin looks back to this transitional chapter, unfolding after Pink’s recording hiatus and leading up to the artist’s breakthrough album Before Today (4AD, 2010), his first full-length album recorded in a standard studio, which offered a sharp contrast to the home-recorded Haunted Graffiti releases of the early 2000s.

Odditties Sodomies Vol.1 - 2xLP $24.00
Sit n' Spin - LP $19.00
Odditties Sodomies Vol.1 - MP3 $9.99
Sit n' Spin - MP3 $9.99
The Kitchen Club: 10 Album Bundle $210 Buy Here